top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

The Supramolecular Unknot

Updated: 4 days ago

For today’s post I was about to write something else but realized I had made a major blunder before. In the post The First Ever Supramolecular Knot of Knots, I presented this structure: 

This is a saint Hannes knot of hydrogen molecules. Until my discovery that both a proton and an electron are unknots, the supramolecular shell being a knot seemed logical. However, realizing that the saint Hannes knot is only reserved for atoms, this forced me to rethink the concept of the supramolecular shell.

 

If the supramolecular shell is just a closed loop of molecules that doesn’t need to be a knot, then why would it be a knot? The answer is, it cannot be a knot. Thus, the structure of the supramolecular shell should look like this: 

While this looks very much like the saint Hannes knot, practically the difference is huge! Indeed, this was one of the major flaws in the manuscript currently under review. I more or less handwaved the question of the formation of the supramolecular knot. And as often is the case, the solution for the formation of the knot was not to form the knot in the first place.

 

I think this was the last major unanswered question left. Now I just need to rewrite the Theory of Everything -manuscript. I know I still need to turn some of Blender images to equations, but this shouldn’t take too long.

 

If I was wildly optimistic, I might be able to finish the corrections in two weeks. Realistically it will probably take longer, but probably not too much longer.

 

 

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page