top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Proton is an Unknot

In my last post I talked about the structural differences between a hydrogen atom and a proton. I noted that a major difference between hydrogen and proton is that in hydrogen the elementary particles of energy (dots) rotate a single turn in their orbit, in proton they rotate two turns. While this is true, this isn’t the biggest structural difference.

 

I already had an inkling of the biggest difference while finishing off my last post but decided to leave the revelation for a second post. As the title of this post says, this revelation is that proton is not a knot. Or as mathematicians say, it is an unknot. What this means is that topologically both proton and electron are rings. But because of refraction, the individual dots turn by 720 degrees in this ring, making it into a Möbius strip. I sort of knew this already a year ago, just by pure logic, but couldn’t really explain it structurally.

 

However, here is the simplest structure that fulfils the criteria, using dots: 

You can see that it consists of as many ‘petals’, as there are turns in the helix. For this simplest shape, there are only three petals, but the actual proton/electron has many more petals. If you look closely at the structure, it does not contain a single knot. This means that the reason why this structure does not unravel is that the collisions of dots of one turn of the orbital with the dots of another turn are the cause of refraction within the proton/electron. Although, in all honesty to properly show this phenomenon, I should have been more careful in making the loops touch each other in the illustration.

 

When the two unknots, proton and electron, meet, they unravel. At the same time, they also form a knot: the saint Hannes knot: 

So, I guess that’s the next puzzle to solve. What actually happens here? A while back I would have just said that I’ll leave it for someone else. However, I think I might be able to solve this puzzle. If I do this, this would be the first structural interpretation of interparticle phenomena using dots. This would also be a very relevant thing for the Theory of Everything -manuscript, because in it I say that the absorption of light by hydrogen molecules knotted into a supramolecular shell ionizes it into protons and electrons.

 

To explain this, there is the possibility that hydrogen splits into three interconnected quarks and an electron for this splitting to be possible. If this was so, the three-quark structure would immediately revert into a proton once an electron was cleaved. However, all of this is just thinking aloud. I might on the right tracks with these musings, but for now I just don’t know.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page