top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

A 3D Knot of Dots

Today’s post is a visual one. And a very visual one at that. While I’ve had the equations for the St Hannes Knot that describes both the general Shape of the Higgs Boson and a hydrogen atom, I hadn’t converted these into a three-dimensional image. Well, in my last post I sort of did, but the size of the dots were so large that the shape became distorted.

 

So, for today’s post, I decided to redo the image of my last post, but shrinking its individual dots. I also corrected the twist of the helices. Now the primary helix twists clockwise, but it unfolds counterclockwise.

 

And here is the image:

But I wasn’t satisfied just showing a 2D snaphot of the 3D image. This time I taught myself how to convert a rotating 3D image in Powerpoint into a video. Here is what it looks like:




I think I could say more, but in some sense, I’ll just let the image work its magic. When you see with how simple principles one can explain the structure of particles with mass, the idea of needing to conjure up anything more seems superstitious.

 

Of course, I might be wrong about something. Perhaps this structure still lacks some property of matter. However, there really isn’t a better alternative offered. Current string theory suggests extra dimensions. That requires a much larger leap of faith. And I don’t know whether there are proper competing theories of everything to String theory.

 

You be the judge: does this look convincing?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page