top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

The Time Gap

 

In the video of my last post I still showed the (yellow and blue) dots of neighboring helices (or their segments) being connected with green rods. However, already in writing the post, I knew the image wasn’t correct. But it took me a while to change the picture.

 

So, here you have a schematic image/video of the effect of motion for the reflection, albeit in a highly exaggerated form. In the middle of the image there are two yellow (top) and two blue (top) dots connected with a rod, depicting the moment of reflection. At this point there is a gap between the yellow and blue dots. Some distance away from the original dots, there are new dots, depicting the dots before and after the impact. These dots are connected with green rods. As noted, at this middle point the dots touch, but aren’t reflecting.

Only at the most extreme ends will the dots be reflected once more.

 

After finishing this video, I was happy. But as I started writing this post, I realized that it makes no sense to depict motion both forwards and backwards in time in a single image. So, next I need to check what the image looks like with forward motion of dots on both ends. I have a feeling that I will still find some faults in my logic and the theory will once again change. Hopefully only a bit, though.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page