top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

The Feynman Diagram of Dot Reflection

 In today’s post I’m doing something that I probably shouldn’t. I’m drawing a Feynman diagram of the reflection of elementary particles of energy (dots). The reason why I say I probably shouldn’t do it, is that I don’t really know how to use Feynman diagrams as they are usually used.

 

However, has not being an expert ever stopped me? So, here is my diagram:

As in my Theory of Everything -manuscript, I denote the dot with γ. Unlike in regular Feynman diagrams, all the subatomic particles are the same. The curious thing is that the middle subatomic particle is imaginary, but necessary. You see, in higher level subatomic interactions, when the subatomic particles in the left interact, they produce a photon, comprising of several dots, that in turn become the subatomic particles on the right side. But in this case the dots on the left side don’t become the dots on the right side. Rather, they remain at an equilibrium and are separated by a distance of one dot. Thus, the middle γ denotes two halves of dot, and not a true single dot.

 

So, you can’t remove the middle dot, despite it not existing.

 

You might ask yourself, “what is the use of a Feynman diagram in this case?” For now, the most important reason is to use at least roughly the same language as physicists. It might serve a more concrete purpose in my calculations in the future, but even if it doesn’t, the diagram should allow me to convey what’s going on within a particle of matter in an approachable manner.

 

What next? I’ve tried to work with vectors before, with little success, but this time I think I might be able to get them to behave well. Only time will tell.

 

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page