top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Switching to Lignin

Now that I’ve submitted my Theory of Everything -manuscript, I feel like taking a pause from the topic for a while. If I get a rejection from the editor in the next few days, I might return to the topic sooner rather than later. However, if the manuscript is accepted for review, I probably won’t get the response of the reviewer any time soon.


So, now that I’ve figured out the principles of supramolecular shells, I’m next going to apply what I’ve learned to describe lignin. I had already posted on The Structure of Plant Life over a year ago, but didn’t really continue with the topic. Although I promised at the end of the structure of life -post that “What else I found out about the structure of lignin, I'll have to leave to future posts”, I only wrote a single post on lignin after that.


Looking back at what I wrote a year ago, I realize that I hadn’t said almost anything that I had learned about lignin. I was so excited about the theory of everything that I almost forgot to explain what the real structure of life is (apart from that single introductory post).


Now I have my work cut out for me to write a publication on the structure of lignin that is as clear and rigorous as the article on the theory of everything. I had already progressed quite far over a year and a half ago, when I was distracted by the theory of everything. The first thing I need to do is to tie the theory of everything to the theory of lignin. This will surely take some time.


The first thing, though, what I need is to learn to use Blender with molecular models. You see, I already know what I need to do, but I’m grappling with the actually doing it. You might remember this toroidal structure from previous posts:

The thing that I need to do is to replace each ‘pearl’ of the above image with a monolignol. I need to do this, because my theory states that the supramolecular shell of lignin is originally a supramolecular shell of its monomers. And not just that, my theory states that these monolignol donuts, or toroidosomes fuse into a hexagonal lattice, like below, before they even polymerize.

All of this is a whole new can of worms, and it will take some time to unravel, if you excuse my intentionally comical mixing of metaphors.


It will take a while to get to the same level of clarity as in my Theory of Everything -manuscript, but given enough time, I should make this publishable as well. I will still keep you in suspense in what the theory of lignin is all about. Today’s post was just a teaser.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page