top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Stop the Presses! The Theory of Everything Needs Corrections!

My post for today was supposed to be a bit more philosophical in nature as it deals with trying to come up with solutions to problems your own way, without learning the existing solutions. You see, I think had I been better aware of the principles of quantum mechanics, I might never have suggested the correlation of the molecular bond with supramolecular interactions, as seen in the below image from my Theory of Everything -manuscript.

In the picture, the molecular bond and the suggested ‘supramolecular bond’ are identical. This was a mistake, but a necessary mistake. Had I got stuck at this point with the idea that the molecular bond and the supramolecular knot are different, but not knowing how, I might have gotten stuck. Or at least I wouldn’t have been as ready to suggest the above scheme. As you can see, I don’t have any knots in the above image.

 

However, only as I put the above image in this post, I realized I must rewrite the Theory of Everything -manuscript! You see, most reviewers who know anything about physics would find equating a molecular bond with a supramolecular interaction highly unlikely. Such a suggestion would rise a big red flag.

 

On the other hand, if I redraw the above image, these red flags can be discarded. In the revised manuscript, the image for d) should be this:


or this:

The image for e) should be this:

And the image for f) should be this:

Well, in actual fact, I still need the exact equation for the molecular bond. I already have the equation for the Higgs helix (or the hydrogen atom). And I don’t need an equation for the supramolecular knot, because the two molecules aren’t bonded. The knot is more of a steric hindrance for the movement of the molecules. That is, the impact with the neighboring molecule prevents the fully free movement of the molecule, but the movement of the two molecules are still to some extent independent.

 

While I was initially tempted to write a new manuscript, it makes much more sense to add these as a correction to the current manuscript under review. The new data adds a significant amount of credence to the manuscript under review and I don’t really need to do nearly as much writing.

 

So, all of a sudden, I’m about to do something I didn’t know I would be doing even this morning. I’m not sure how long it will take to make the corrections to the already submitted manuscript. I’m not even 100 % sure how to send the corrections to the editor, while the first review is still in progress. However, what’s absolutely certain is that I’ll keep you informed.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page