top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Assume a Conical Monolignol

Sometimes even half-baked ideas can become good, if they’re based on a logical principle. This is what happened with my yesterday’s idea of a cylindrical monolignol. While my post from yesterday was mired in anguish about my inability to make Blender do what I wanted, this anguish sowed the seed of me being able to simplify the problems into manageable chunks.


Almost immediately after I’d written about cylindrical monolignols, I saw its parallel to my post on the Jacob’s Ladder Theory for the Theory of Everything. In it, I had first reduced the elementary particles of energy (dots) to cylinders and immediately realized that the only thing that was important for the depiction was the angle of the connection of the dots, which could be depicted as two cylinders inside the dot.


So, what if instead of the connection of dots, we depict the connection of pairs of monolignols with spheres with cones inside. I.e. a classical instance of “assume a spherical cow”. So this is what I did. But in this case, the spheres were overlapping, as unlike with dots, the sphere’s were ‘real’. They are just mathematical tricks.


And this is what the double helical cylinder comprised of two colors of cylinders look like:

And here is the same from above:

And here is what it looks like as a segment of a hexagonal lattice:

And this is what it looks like as a lattice:

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the power of the Theory of Everything!


Granted, I had already figured out a lot of the basics out before I had proper mathematical handle on the topic. However, it took me sixteen days after letting go of the Theory of Everything (because the manuscript was submitted and wasn’t under my control) to reaching the point of being able to describe the monolignol lattice mathematically. If I had known the mathematics, I could have submitted the manuscript well over a year ago. But now that I have the mathematics sorted out, there’s nothing holding me back.


The funny thing is that I might have better luck getting this published in Nature than the Theory of Everything. At least here I’ve actually conducted experiments and can cite previous publications. And there is quite a large community of scientists working on the general topic.


I’ll keep you informed of my progress here. It’s probably still take a bit of time to finish the manuscript of the Theory of Lignin, as my old manuscript is so different to how I now know how it should look like. Exciting times!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page