top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

The Piston Hypothesis

In today’s post I make a full 180-degree turn and offer a brand-new hypothesis for the reflection of the elementary particles of energy (dots), that makes my statement that curves don’t exist viable again.

 

It all started with my attempt to include two additional laws of reflection. These new laws would allow reflections to be split into such infinitesimally small chunks that a string of dots could be permanently connected and constantly curving in a smooth succession of reflections:

However, after banging my head against the wall with the idea for a couple of weeks, it seems that my initial idea of a succession of reflections is more feasible. But the original idea wasn’t radical enough. You see, pretty much since I got the idea that all matter and light consist of strings of dots, I’ve maintained the idea that these dots in the strings are connected.

 

But if we consider the basic properties of reflection, the assumption of constant touching becomes untenable. Rather, it seems that the reflections must be paired. That it, firstly, we have the reflection of parallel dots, as shown in many previous posts:

However, this time we have a slight twist. We don’t expect the dots to be in constant contact with each other. Rather, they only reflect/touch at specific (yet unknown) frequency.

 

In this reflection, the dots approach (a), collide (b) and separate (c), increasing their distance from 2r to at least a slightly higher value. This reflection could be likened to the explosion in an internal combustion engine and the dot could be likened to a piston. This would mean that the dots would need to collide with the dot in front (d), causing it to be reflected back towards the center. I don’t have a nice scheme that illustrates this phenomenon, so I use a question mark instead.

This hypothesis is very much a work in progress. There are so many things that might show that the idea doesn’t hold. However, if I was a betting man, I would probably bet at least something on this hypothesis.

 

While this doesn’t sound too different from what I’ve talked about in my previous posts at first glance, the extremely important difference here is that the opposing reflections do not take place simultaneously. This means that the motion of the dots, if viewed from the same distance, looks like the pumping of a piston in an engine.

 

This hypothesis should be pretty easy to verify, if correct. I’m cautiously optimistic that this might be the smoking gun that solves the Theory of Everything, to use a completely inappropriate metaphor.

 

I’ll be sure to keep you informed whether this was it. It’s always possible that I was wrong…

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page