top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

The Angle of Refraction Is Purely Determined by the Angle of Impact

I’ve been procrastinating lately. I’ve been supposed to write an official appeal to the rejection I received from Scientific Reports for the Theory of Everything -manuscript. However, my mind has been so occupied with my day job that I haven’t found the time (or more accurately willingness) to start.

 

One of the reasons for this procrastination is that I know that the article that was rejected wasn’t up to my current standards. It does need to be revised. The other reason relates to the first: I’m currently thinking hard about the repercussions of the relative deceleration of the elementary particles of energy (dots) upon impact.

 

That is, while I showed this video of helices of dots colliding and rotating due to the collisions: 

this video masks the reason what determines the magnitude of refraction.

 

But today I think I got a Eureka moment, once again. The answer to the simple question of “What determines the angle of refraction?” is the angle of impact. If there are two dots hurling towards each other, there is a point where the two dots collide. If one draws a plane through the point of impact, the angle of refraction is determined by the angle at which the dot approaches the plane. With symmetrical impact of dots, this looks schematically like this:

 

However, there is no reason why the two dots would approach in a second two-dimensional plane. The video below shows dots approaching each other at an angle.


I need to think a bit more about the implications of this, so that I can explain the context even better. However, this is more or less everything you need to know about fundamental interactions. Any other interaction in the world isn’t truly fundamental.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page