top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Rebuilding Refraction

 After my last post I began thinking about what the findings of my last post meant. In it I said that only the inner dots have a secondary rotational component and that the outer dots move with a single rotational component. However, after thinking about the concept harder, I realized that this isn’t 100 % true.

 

Rather, the ‘outer’ dots, with a larger radius of primary curvature still have a secondary curvature. Only with this are they able to form a Higgs helix. However, the ‘inner’ dots will have doubly large angle of secondary curvature. Like this:

This means that the yellow outer dots move in a trajectory that form the simple Higgs helix shape:

And this means that the blue inner dots twist around the yellow dots. This means that the radius of rotation for the blue dots is 2r around the yellow dots. This also means that the green dots also rotate around the yellow dots, but with a radius of rotation of √3r.

 

What’s more, while the yellow dots always have a constant component of secondary rotation, the blue dots begin with a secondary rotation that is twice as large as that of the yellow dots, but on the opposite end of the Higgs helix, the blue dots have zero secondary rotation, but only at the very point where the Higgs helix meets itself.

 

Now that I have the basic building blocks, I should be able to come up with the equations. Now I also know that the equations involve adding a changing component of secondary rotation. Sounds a bit tricky, but hopefully it isn’t beyond my skills.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page