top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Quark with A Twist

I’ll keep today’s post short. Not because I don’t have a lot of ideas, but because I know that to write a long post, I’d need to prepare more pictures.


So, I’ll keep it short. In my last post I presented the concept of the proton twisting into two up quarks and one down quark. I also introduced an image that tried to combine the quarks together. Except I intentionally showed the image in a way where the connection points with the up and down quarks were obscured. This is because the connections made absolutely no sense and I knew it already when I posted it. Partly because of that I was talking about cranks. I knew I omitted a lot of stuff that didn’t really back the hypothesis.


I did this because I knew I was onto something and that if I thought about it a bit more deeply, an answer would materialize. And as always, it didn’t take too long for that to happen.


To cut a long story short, the intermediate step of proton splitting must be circular double-helical loop. If the center of the loop is twisted in the opposite direction of its original twist, the ends retain the original twist and even gain extra turns, whereas the turns forming in the center have a reverse twist. And the number of turns in the central circle is equal to the sum of the extra turns in the ends. Like this:

And here it is crucial to look closely at the connecting points between the ‘quark-loops’. Just by twisting the neighboring loops one can get the strings to match. Easy-peasy.


So, is this the structure of quarks just before they are detached? Not necessarily. The sum of the masses of the three quarks is much smaller than the mass of a proton. So the extra mass has to be somewhere. Where this extra mass goes will be my next puzzle to be solved.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page