top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Of Rotating Lattices

Updated: Oct 15, 2023

As I’m writing this post, I’m confident that I will very soon be submitting my Theory of Everything -manuscript. The only thing left, as I’ve noted before, is to polish, polish, polish. However, unlike before, the manuscript really begins to look polished and ready to be sent to the world to see.


One of the last things left is showing that not just solids, but also gases and liquids, form ordered lattices. I’ve talked about this for quite a long time already. I developed the first concept for it already a year and a half ago. But it’s a different matter talking about such lattices and really showing them.


Even as late as in my last post, I tried to illustrate the lattice of gases and liquids with just rotating spheres and ‘negative contacts’, illustrated with tiny cylinders. However, this approach was somehow dissatisfying to me. I could just imagine the reader not really getting what the odd tiny smudges were about. So I thought about it some more and realized that I had been an idiot!


I had illustrated the contact with dots with vectors for several months but hadn’t really thought that I could do the same with the rotating supramolecular shells. But now that I did, I realized that doing the same thing would be perfect for illustrating a lattice of rotating spheres. The trick is that while the lattice of rotating spheres look uncannily like a face-centered cubic lattice, the major difference is that the rotating structure doesn’t have the same points of contact. I was about to say something that most readers wouldn’t understand anyhow, so here is just how the actual point of contact look:

I’m still thinking about coloring the contacts where the direction of rotation is the same and the contacts where the connected spheres rotate in the opposite direction. I’ll probably at least try to see how it looks.


Anyhow, this is just a visual polish that I thought you might find interesting.


Update from October 15th:

So, this is it. You have green rods connecting blue and yellow spheres (rotating in opposite directions) and black rods connecting spheres of the same color (rotating in the same direction).

You can view the figure from different sides and new sides of the structure are revealed. Like here:

And here:

And here:

Again I was about to say something profound, but realized there's probably no point in trying to explain with word what is easier seen in these figures. It almost seems like these four angles of viewing reveal different aspects of the same structure. Like in the parable of the Blind men and an elephant.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page