top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Flying Planes

I thought I’d post something, even though I can’t really say I’ve made too much progress. The problem is that for proper animation of the principles of the Theory of Everything, you’re either right, or unconvincing.

 

I’d call where I’m currently at, the uncanny valley of the Theory of Everything. While the theory sounds quite convincing, for people to really be convinced, I should be able to show how two helices of dots entangled with each other cause them to refract into a closed, knotted loop, where each of the dots travel at the same speed.

 

I’m able to show this relatively convincingly with equations, with 2D plots and static 3D images. But the smoking gun is to show refraction with moving dots.

 

This is what I’ve tried to do the last days. There’s probably something wrong with Blender in that it doesn’t allow me to animate the images that I’ve already made. However, there might also be a deeper reason for this. It’s possible that I’ve taken shortcuts that are okay in static images, but where the errors only show with moving images.

 

I’m still toiling away in trying to illustrate two colors of spherical dots moving along two helical orbitals. It’s probably too tricky to explain what my current problem is. However, a possible answer to the problem is relatively easy to illustrate. Instead of trying to imagine the spherical dots as spheres in blender, I consider them as 2D planes moving along a helical one-dimensional string. This allows me to make all sorts of modifications until I assign a spherical dot to each plane. This way I don’t need to distort the dots.

 

So where am I at? With an odd-looking animation of glowing golden sheets flying around a central point in a black background:

And is this the final solution? Not really. The reason why I’m showing this, is because this is the last point that still makes sense, where the animation doesn’t yet go off the rails. However, this kind of looks cool, so I thought I’d show it to you, just for the fun of it.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page