top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

Flying Dots on the Right Tracks

These past few weeks have been quite tedious in my quest to illustrate the Theory of Everything. I decided that I won’t concentrate on anything until I’ve learned how to illustrate two refracted helices of dots in movement. I guess some of the problems have been about science, but mostly it’s just me not knowing to use Blender properly.

 

It went so bad that I’ve been procrastinating and just avoiding facing the problem. Much of it has been that I couldn’t science myself out of this hole. However, with enough grit, I’ve managed to overcome the technical issues. Now I know how to animate moving helices of dots. Here is what my first iteration looks like:

You might be impressed (or not), but once I know I can handle Blender, I immediately see the small flaws in the image that are mostly the result of me taking a couple of shortcuts. Hopefully I’ll be able to correct these pretty soon.

 

I think it shouldn’t take too much effort to also have the camera rotate around the image, so that I won’t just show the rotating dots in an otherwise static image, but I’ll also show the saint Hannes knot in all its glory. That might just be my next post.

 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page