top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalle Lintinen

A Split String of Knots

Today’s post is a bit more speculative than my other recent posts. The reason for this is the peculiar property of knotting two saint Hannes knots together.

 

In my last post I showed that to form a knot of knots, a helical orbital must be stretched to one side:

 

 While I didn’t say it very clearly, this means that the other side of the knot cannot form a knot. My idea was that a second knot on the outside would form if you increased the number of turns in the helix.

 

However, when I tried to test the concept with Blender, none of the figures looked the least bit convincing. Then it hit me that if the initial state is a single knot with a helix of two turns, you can’t introduce more turns to a helix to have a second knot. You need a different mechanism.

 

While I’m not at all sure what I’m about to say makes perfect sense, I started thinking that perhaps the fine shape of the Higgs helix is a solution. You see, the helix is comprised of two entangled helices (marked green and blue below) of spherical elementary particles of energy (dots: individual dots not shown below), split into four orbitals that are each dependent on their surroundings.

So, my idea is: could these four orbitals be split into two pairs, where one pair is stretched in one direction and the other pair stretched in the opposite direction?

 

This way the orbital would be split into two halves, where one half could form a knot on the left and the other half form a knot on the right, like in the image below:

This idea is so new that I have no idea whether it makes sense. However, the idea follows a clear logic, which makes testing it relatively simple. However, as a certain Finns tended to say, there’s a 50-60 chance that it might work.

 

So, today’s idea might be a dead end, or a breakthrough. I can’t say which before testing it a bit more. I’ll probably let you know which it was soon enough.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page